Last night were the 30th annual Producers Guild of America Awards. Green Book walked away with top honors. Earlier this month, the Peter Farrelly film also took home the top prize at the Golden Globes for the Musical or Comedy category. This makes Green Book the new favorite to win the Best Picture Oscar at the Academy Awards next month. Of the guild’s 29 times handing out awards, the winner of the Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures has gone on to win the coveted Best Picture Oscar 20 times.

Now the PGA recognizes achievements in mediums that are not film; however, for the purposes of this blog, I have included only the winners of the film-related categories. And those winners are…

Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures

“Black Panther” (Producer: Kevin Feige)

“BlacKkKlansman” (Producers: Sean McKittrick, Jason Blum, Raymond Mansfield, Jordan Peele, Spike Lee)

“Bohemian Rhapsody” (Producer: Graham King)

“Crazy Rich Asians” (Producers: Nina Jacobson & Brad Simpson, John Penotti)

“The Favourite” (Producers: Ceci Dempsey, Ed Guiney, Lee Magiday, Yorgos Lanthimos)

WINNER: “Green Book” (Producers: Jim Burke, Charles B. Wessler, Brian Currie, Peter Farrelly, Nick Vallelonga)

“A Quiet Place” (Producers: Michael Bay, Andrew Form, Brad Fuller)

“Roma” (Producers: Gabriela Rodríguez, Alfonso Cuarón)

“A Star Is Born” (Producers: Bill Gerber, Bradley Cooper, Lynette Howell Taylor)

“Vice” (Producers: Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Kevin Messick, Adam McKay)

Outstanding Producer of Documentary Motion Pictures

“The Dawn Wall” (Producers: Josh Lowell, Peter Mortimer, Philipp Manderla)

“Free Solo” (Producers: Elizabeth Chai Vasarhelyi, Jimmy Chin, Evan Hayes, Shannon Dill)

“Hal” (Producers: Christine Beebe, Jonathan Lynch, Brian Morrow)

“Into the Okavango” (Producer: Neil Gelinas)

“RBG” (Producers: Betsy West, Julie Cohen)

“Three Identical Strangers” (Producers: Becky Read, Grace Hughes-Hallett)

WINNER: “Won’t You Be My Neighbor?” (Producers: Morgan Neville, Nicholas Ma, Caryn Capotosto)

Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures

“Dr. Seuss’ The Grinch” (Producers: Chris Meledandri, Janet Healy)

“Incredibles 2” (Producers: John Walker, Nicole Grindle)

“Isle of Dogs” (Producers: *Eligibility Determination Pending*)

“Ralph Breaks the Internet” (Producer: Clark Spencer)

WINNER: “Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse” (Producers: Avi Arad, Phil Lord & Christopher Miller, Amy Pascal, Christina Steinberg)

Outstanding Producer of Streamed or Televised Motion Pictures

WINNER: “Fahrenheit 451”
Producers: Sarah Green, Ramin Bahrani, Michael B. Jordan, Alan Gasmer, Peter Jaysen, David Coatsworth

“King Lear”
Producers: *Eligibility Determination Pending*

“My Dinner with Hervé”
Producers: *Eligibility Determination Pending*

Producers: Barry Levinson, Jason Sosnoff, Tom Fontana, Edward R. Pressman, Rick Nicita, Lindsay Sloane, Amy Herman

“Sense8: Together Until the End”
Producers: *Eligibility Determination Pending*

Are you surprised by any of the PGA Awards winners? What do you think of Green Book being the new front runner for the Best Picture Oscar? I want to hear your thoughts, so hit me up in the comments below!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s